Box 6, Folder 1, Document 10

Dublin Core

Text Item Type Metadata


September 22, 1966

The Local Education Commission met in the Conference Room of the
Administration Building of the Atlanta Public Schools at 10:00 a.m.,
September 22, 1966, with the following in attendance:

Commission Members

iff, P. L. Bardin Mr. William if, Teem, III
if. J. H., Cawthon Mr. Fred J. Turner
Dr. Rufus =. Clement Dr. Paul D. West
Mr. Ed S. Cook, Sr.
Mr. Alan Kiepper Consultants and Staff
Dr. John W. Letson 7
Mr. Thomas Miller Dr. Truman Pierce
Mrs. Alan Ritter Mr. James Groton
Mr. W. L. Robinson Mr. A. C. Latimer
Dr. Curtis Henson

Minutes of the April 27, 1966 meeting were unanimously approved.

The Executive Committee recommended lr. Marthame Sanders to fill the
unexpired term of Mr. James White. Mr. J. H. Cawthon made the motion that
Mr. Marthame Sanders be appointed to the Commission. The motion was seconded
by Mr. Fred Turner and passed unanimously.

A letter of resignation was read from Dr, James L, Miller, Jr. The
motion made by Hr. Tom Miller that the resignation be accepted was seconded
by Hr. W. L. Robinson and passed unanimously.

Dr. Pierce reported on the proposed plan of work entitled "Provisions
for Creating an Atlanta-Fulton County School District", He stated that the
section dealing with the legal work had been discussed in some detail with
Mr. James Groton and that the steps as outlined seemed to be adequate
at this tine.

Following Dr. Pierce's presentation, Mr. Robinson made the motion
that the report be received. It passed unanimously.

Mr. Robinson stated that the method of electing school board members
for the new district should be clearly defined. He made the motion that the
report state that board members are to be elected on a school district-
wide basis by the qualified voters in a special, non-partisan election. The
motion was seconded by Dr. Clement and passed unanimously.

Dr. Clement made the motion that the proposed new 3oard of Education
consist of nine members = one member from each of nine subdivisions of
approximately the same population = all elected by the total electorate.
The motion was seconded by Mr. Ed Cook, Sr. and passed unanimously.

Dr, Clement made the motion that the wording in the plan of work be
changed to read, Board Members will be compensated at the rate of $300

per month with the chairman being paid an additional $50 per month. ‘The
motion was seconded by lr. Robinson and passed unanimously.

It was suggested that the report contain the statement that any seat
on the Board of Education vacated for any reason will be filled by appoint-
ment by the Board until the seat can be filled by a regular school board
election which will be held every two years.

How the length of office for the initial Board will be determined was
discussed. iir. Robinson made the motion that a committee of five members
be appointed to make a recommendation to the full Commission on how the
length of term for each Board Member of the initial 3oard will be determined.
l,,Bardin, Dr. Pierce, and three other members appointed by Mr. Bardin
are to serve on this Committee. The motion was seconded by Ifr. Tom Miller
and passed unanimously.

Mr. Fred Turner made the motion that the plan of action as amended be
adopted by the Commission. The motion was seconded by Hrs. Alan Ritter and
passed unanimously. :

Mr. Cawthon made the motion that Dr. Lyle Johns, University of Florida,
be.employed to make the necessary study in the area of finance. The motion
was seconded by Mr. Tom Miller and passed unanimously.

Mr. Tom Miller made the motion that Dr. Willard Elsbree, Emeritus
Professor of Zducation, Teachers College, Columbia University be employed
to conduct the necessary study in the area of personnel and that if he is
not available, the Executive Committee have the authority to select a
substitute. The motion was seconded by lr. Fred Turner and passed unanimously.

In all cases, the rate of remuneration for each person who works for
the Commission and the tasks to be precnpes ened will be approved in advance
by the Executive Committee.

It was agreed that a copy of the amended Plan of Action be sent to
each member of the two school boards.

Mr. Groton and Mr. Latimer outlined the work to be accomplished in
the legal area. The Commission agreed that the lawyers be given the
authority to start work as outlined in the following three areas:

1. General Powers

2. Revenue from sources other than Local School Tax

3. Power to Increase Bonded Debt and Assumption of Bonded Debt
The lawyers are to keep the Commission informed about progress, costs, and
proposed next steps. The Conmission will select and approve each additional
item to be studied before action is taken by the lawyers.

It was suggested that Dr. Pierce and the lawyers proceed as expeditiously
as possible and that the Commission meet again in approximately 30 days to
hear progress reports. At the October meeting, plans for an interim report
will be discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Approved By:

Chairman Recording Secretary

public items show