Box 7, Folder 9, Document 11

Dublin Core

Text Item Type Metadata


NEWS 7 ~Af

from _

The Urban Coalition

2100 M Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20037

(Tom Mathews)




Three businessmen, two mayors, a Texas state senator and
a physician were named today as additions to the national Urban
Coalition's policy-making Steering Committee.

The new members announced by Urban Coalition Chairman John W.
Gardner are:

Ben W. Heineman of Chicago, Chairman of the Board and Presi-
dent of the Chicago and North Western Railway Company. Heineman
is also Chairman of the President's Commission on Income Mainten-

Donald M. Kendall, President of Pepsico, Inc., and Chairman
of the National Alliance of Businessmen.

H. I. Romnes, Chairman of the Board of AT&T. Romnes is also
Vice-Chairman of the National Industrial Conference Board and is a
member of the Urban Coalition's Task Force on Education.

Mayor Erik Jonsson of Dallas.

Mayor Richard Lugar of Indianapolis.

State Senator Joe J. Bernal of San Antonio, Texas. Senator

Bernal, an educator and social worker as well as legislator, is



Executive Director of the Guadalupe Community Center in San Antonio.

Hector P. Garcia, M. D., a Corpus Christi, Texas physician
and Commissioner of the U. S. Civil Rights Commission. Dr. Garcia
was organizer of the American GI Forum, a national group of
veterans of Mexican origin.

The appointments bring the total membership on the national
Steering Committee to 65.

Mr. Gardner said the Urban Coalition adds to the Steering
Committee periodically to assure broad and dynamic representation
from the Coalition's constituent elements -- local government,
business, labor, minority groups and religion. He said he was de-
lighted that men of the stature of the seven new members had agreed
to actively participate in Urban Coalition policy.

The Urban Coalition is a national organization with 48 local
coalition affiliates. It brings together diverse groups to work
toward the solution of urban problems.

Co-Chairmen of the national Urban Coalition Steering Committee
are Andrew Heiskell, Chairman of the Board of Time, Inc., and A.
Philip Randolph, International President-Emeritus of the Brother-

hood of Sleeping Car Porters.

public items show